Swallowtail Caterpillars on Rue

I was so happy to see these caterpillars on my rue today! My son planted some rue and other herbs in our front flower bed in the spring. It’s pretty hard to focus on just the caterpillars with my camera. The quality of the photos aren’t that great, but at least the butterflies are laying eggs in my yard!

I actually had seen when a butterfly was laying some eggs on this rue plant around July 19. I’m thinking another one must have laid eggs days later. I’ve been checking for caterpillars in the last 2 weeks. With any luck these will turn into chrysalis’ and then butterflies!

IMG_0250IMG_02522


Leave a Reply

